KARMA CHAMELEON

REINCARNATION: DO YOU BELIEVE IT OR NOT?

Born in a Hindu Brahmin family I have gone through rituals right from my birth. I was introduced to Reincarnation recently when I saw my Kundli (Natal chart). A section in my natal chart talks about my previous life. It says that I was an Ashva (a Horse) in previous life. It’s hard to believe. Hinduism and other ancient religions along with some modern religion like Spiritism, Theosophy, and Eckankar have a common belief that the soul or spirit, after biological death, begins a new life in a new body that may be human, animal or spiritual depending on the moral quality of the previous life’s actions.

Karma is what I believe in. Tulsidas, a Hindu saint, said: “Our destiny was shaped long before the body came into being.” Then there are people who say: Our destiny lies in our own hands. I go with the latter one. Hindus provide several reasons why the life takes on various physical bodies:572px-Reincarnation2

  1. To experience the fruits of one’s karmas
  2. To satisfy one’s desires
  3. To complete one’s unfinished sadhana
  4. To fulfil a debt
  5. To undergo sufferings because of a great soul’s curse
  6. To attain moksha

I believe that each life on this planet has a specific role to play. To me this is my life. What’s life before birth and what’s life after death is meaningless. You achieve and lose everything and nothing in this life. It’s true that not all desires get fulfilled in one single life. If reincarnation is true I should know my unfulfilled desire of previous life as a horse. Do I know it? Nope! One should understand the fact that he/she is a part of this world and what is it that he/she can give to this world. Try putting more into this world than taking out from it. Animals have instincts and they play their role. We humans have brains but we seldom use it.

For me the above six reasons for reincarnation held true if applied for a single lifetime and not for cycles of life. One experiences the consequences of his/her deeds. One tends to satisfy all his/her desires. One learns (sadhana) throughout his life. One fulfils his/her debt in one or the other way. I don’t believe in curse and blessings. When you die you recall what you have done in your life. If that satisfies you then you have attained moksha. So I would like to say one thing, believe in yourself and live your life. 

I would love to hear from you

